Autism Awareness Month

It’s April and that brings with it Autism Awareness Month.  So many people are afraid of the word autism, or the people that are blessed to have it.  Yes, I said blessed.  I don’t see autism as a disability.  As many of you know, if you have followed this blog at all, that my son is autistic and what a blessing he has been in our lives.

His sisters are more compassionate people because of their brother.  I have learned to see the world so differently in trying to view it through his eyes.  Autism is not a disability.  It is a difference in someone, a difference that you can learn from.  I will be the first to admit the first years in dealing with autism were not easy by any stretch. There were many sleepless nights, many tears (both on my part and my son’s) and a long grieving period.

But what I have learned is my son is autistic, which is just another word for unique in our household.  He likes to be by himself and well that okay because so do I.  He has a tough time with changes in routine, but there is nothing wrong with that because routine keeps order in our lives.  He has a very difficult time with transitions, but as he approaches adulthood, he keeps pushing through those difficult time and handles them with more dignity and maturity each time he has to deal with a transition.

I couldn’t be more proud of the man he has become.  I am truly blessed to have autism in our lives and I urge anyone that doesn’t have a true understanding of it to reach out to a parent of an autistic child and ask questions.  We love to educate people about it.

It is only fitting for me that my book Second Chances is being released April 14th.  It is a fiction book, but centers around a single mom with an autistic child.  It is up for preorder now and can be found here.

second chances COVER small

This entry was posted in autism, parenting, single mom, stress and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Autism Awareness Month

  1. D.B. Sieders says:

    Wow, that’s wonderful!

    My son is also autistic, and your words really resonate with me. He is different and has opened my eyes (and his father’s and sister’s) to seeing the world in a different way. He has taught me patience, has brought out the natural compassion in his sister, and has turned his parents into advocates. I love him for all of his quirks and couldn’t imagine life without him.

    So glad you’ve incorporated this experience into a book. I can’t wait to read it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

